MARINI’S on 57 - Sunset Hours Volume Two Compiled by Chris Coco & Afterlife

Chris Coco and Afterlife (Steve Miller) have compiled Vol.2 in the excellent "Sunset Hours" album series. Digital release is this week, CD release will be in July (date TBC) and the European album launch party is on Salinas Beach, Ibiza on 9th August.

Album Launch Party - Sunday 9th August (Ibiza)

Jockey Club, Salinas Beach with Chris Coco, Pete Gooding & Phil Dockerty



MARINI’S on 57 - Sunset Hours Volume Two

Compiled by Chris Coco & Afterlife

(Secret Life) SLM002C

Release: Digital 8th June / CD July 2015 - Date TBC



01. Les Baxter – Jungle Flower (Club des Belugas Remix)

02. Christian Prommer – Can You Feel It

03. Micko Roche – Baltimore

04. Man In A Room – Black & White

05. Vincent Delerm – Bruits Des Nuits d'été

06. Jose Padilla – Mojame

07. DF Tram – The Mystery

08. A Forrest Mighty Black – Fresh In My Mind

09. Afterlife & Chris Coco – Sunset Hours (Marini’s Remix)

10. Suba – Tantos Desejos (Nicola Conte Remix)

11. John Beltran – Esperanto

12. Nick & Samantha – Escapology

13. The Past Present Organisation – Rififi

14. Coppé – Fly Me To The Mooooooon

Marini's on 57 in Kuala Lumpur, founded by Modesto Marini, is a multi-international-award winning venue that is the highest bar, restaurant and lounge in Malaysia, located on the 57th floor of a skyscraper situated next the Petronas Twin Towers with an amazing view -

The Sunset Hours series is the musical soundtrack selection inspired by this amazing location. Last year’s Volume One (Secret Life) featured the story-telling selections of Ibizan legend José Padilla, weaving a perfect mellow, melodic, Balearic and deeply electronic musical tapestry. Now, for the 2015 summer season, two of the world’s finest chilled DJ/Producers, Chris Coco and Afterlife (aka Steve Miller) join forces to present Volume Two.

Chris & Steve’s supreme track selections join dots between generations and genres like no one else, with a depth and breadth of musical knowledge that is simply astonishing. Chris Coco and Afterlife’s blurring of musical boundaries is both inspired and inspiring. From Club des Belugas’ (one of the leading Nu-Jazz bands in Europe) interpretation of 1950’s American composer, conductor and progenitor of exotica music, Les Baxter’s Jungle Flower, to jazz drum master Christian Prommer’s cover of Mr. Fingers’ (Larry Heard) seminal house classic, “Can You Feel It”; from the gorgeous musicianship of newly discovered Irish artist Micko Roche, to the deeply laidback and emotive style of Man In A Room (aka Dublin’s Steven Connolly). Chris & Steve move on with the sophisticated mellow tones of French singer Vincent Delerm, showcasing “Bruits Des Nuits d'été”, from his “Les Amants Parralleles” album, and then look to the future with a brand new track from Jose Padilla (listen out for his new album coming on International Feel).

Another name to look out for is San Francisco’s DF Tram, represented here with Mystery (featuring keys by Spacetime Continuum’s Jonah Sharp), taken from his forthcoming debut solo artist album Illegal Lingo. The inclusion of Fresh In My Mind by Brazilian and fusion influenced, A Forest Mighty Black (one of the few outposts for jazzy downtempo music in Germany) represents a sterling piece of B-side 12” vinyl crate digging from 1994 (Compost Records).

Afterlife and Chris Coco flex their own production muscles on their magical title track Sunset Hours (Marini’s Remix). The distinctive bossa nova vibes of Italy’s Nicola Conte follow, before the focus shifts to USA’s John Beltran’s Esperanto – a truly stunning creation from the techno/jazz maverick – and the drifting, mellow melodies of Nick & Samantha’s Escapology. The Past Present Organisation takes movie soundtracks, jazz and exotica from the 60’s and 70’s and wraps them up in contemporary styling, Rififi being a perfect example here. A complete masterstroke is the set finale to end all finales’ that comes in the form of a totally off-the-wall version of the jazz standard (originally written in 1954 by Bart Howard) Fly Me To The Moon from Japanese San Franscisco resident Coppé.

The ability to compile such a diverse, exotic and stimulating album as Sunset Hours Volume Two is rooted in long and diverse careers for both Chris Coco and Afterlife. Chris is a tastemaker, DJ, broadcaster, producer, music curator, musician and journalist. His syndicated, weekly Melodica electronic music radio show and Melodica Recordings label are essential sources for the finest diverse chilled music selections. As a respected DJ since the acid house explosion of the late 80’s, his sunset/beach sets are laid-back and eclectic, and are something special to experience.

Steve Miller is Afterlife, a multi-tasking artist/DJ/label boss of great renown. The most played artist in Ibiza last year, his music a perennial soundtrack at the beach bars and anywhere into lush, lilting, chilled and totally saturated sounds of impeccable taste. He is the sunset phenomenon – the purveyor of the finest romantic and melancholic mood music. His chill classics have featured extensively as highlights throughout the on legendary Café del Mar compilation series and his many artist albums all stand as benchmarks for the finest chilled music. Having played the sunset set at a multitude of parties and around the world in the most exotic locations, Steve Miller is also a masterful chilled DJ.


Sunset Hours Volume Two album launch parties will take place in three locations:


9th June (Kuala Lumpur)

Marini’s on 57 with Chris Coco


Sunday 9th August (Ibiza)

Jockey Club, Salinas Beach with Chris Coco, Pete Gooding & Phil Dockerty


Further Information:

Back to Compilation Overview