Paul Kalkbrenner Presents Back To The Future, Part 1

Back To The Future - Part 1 mix is available for free online now. 

The German star used a common method of musical discovery in making Back To The Future—searching for tracks on YouTube. In Kalkbrenner's case, however, he was taking a break from his seventh album, the major label effort 7, when he "fell into a rabbit hole of thousands of YouTube playlists and posts, rediscovering the songs my friends and I would gather and listen to as 13 and 14 year old every Saturday in East Berlin on Radio DT64 (now Berlin's Radio Fritz)." 

Kalkbrenner went on to collect over 5,000 songs on YouTube, eventually building edits from YouTube recordings and stitching some of them together into three mixes comprising Back To The Future. Kalkbrenner views it as his "personal history of electronic music arriving in Berlin." He adds "this trilogy will not be sold, it was a labor of love, born of nostalgia and made for sharing." Part one, which is on Kalkbrenner's SoundCloud now, is made up of tracks released between 1989 and 1993. 

Listen to Back To The Future - Part 1 (Free Download) >>>


01. The Source Experience - The Source Experience 
02. 280 West - Scattered Dreams 
03. Quadrophonia - Warp Factor One 
04. Nelson FFWD Cruz - My House 
05. Frequency - Hey, Hey, Hey 
06. DHS - House Of God 
07. Acid Jesus - Fairchild 
08. Master Techno - Red Religion 
09. AUX 88 - Technology 
10. 2 for Joy - Manic Joy 
11. Chestnut - Pot Of Gold 
12. LFO - LFO 
13. Todd Terry - House Is A Feeling 
14. Fingers Inc. - I'm Strong 
15. 808 State - Pacific State 
16. H&M - 88 
17. Brain Pilot - C.N.S. 
18. 2 Deeep - X-Pression 
19. Studio X - Los Kings Del Mambo 
20. Transformer 2 - Pacific Symphony 
21. The B-Sides - Reforced 
22. Aphex Twin - Analogue Bubblebath 

Back To The Future - Part 1 is out now.

Bron: Resident Advisor

Back to Compilation Overview