!K7 DJ-Kicks Presents Michael Mayer

Michael Mayer is behind the next installment of !K7's DJ-Kicks mix series. 

The Cologne DJ and Kompakt co-founder has put together a few of the scene's most cherished mix CDs—we ranked his first Immer disc, from 2002, the #1 mix of the '00s—though it's been a while since he's made one. After releasing his collaboration-focused & album on !K7 last fall, he's returning to the label for a 16-track DJ-Kicks. Due out in May, the mix features one exclusive Mayer production, "The Horn Conspiracy," and three of his remixes, along with material from the likes of Moderat, Röyksopp, Alter Ego and Prins Thomas. It'll come on CD and digital formats, and be complemented by a double-vinyl sampler, as usual for the series. 

Mayer says he approached making the mix in a manner similar to how he produced &: "For & I put together a group of people that are close to my heart. For DJ-Kicks it was a group of records that are like friends to me. All of the tracks I used went through heaven and hell with me. They've become true companions. Circling in on and bringing together these friends was the only criterion for the making of this mix. I wanted it to be as personal as possible." 

In support of the mix, Mayer will tour heavily over the next few months, beginning with a set Panoramas Festival in Morlaix, France this weekend. 


01. Peter Zummo - The Tape Is Chill 
02. Michael Mayer - The Horn Conspiracy (DJ-Kicks) 
03. Bvoice, Anrilov, Danilov - Papas Groove (dOP & Masomenos Remix) 
04. SAVE! - The Darkness (I:Cube Remix) 
05. Justus Köhncke - Feuerland 
06. CSS - Honey (Michael Mayer Remix) 
07. Alter Ego - Gary 
08. Kasper Bjørke - Apart feat. Sísý Ey (Michael Mayer Remix) 
09. Lionheart Brothers - The Drift (Prins Thomas Diskomiks) 
10. Mekon - Please Stay feat. Marc Almond (Röyksopp Remix) 
11. Dreems - Mirages (Michael Mayer Remix) 
12. Boreal - Canopy Target 
13. Throbbing Gristle - Hot On The Heels Of Love (Ratcliffe Remix) 
14. Death In Vegas - Consequences Of Love (Chris & Cosey Remix) 
15. Idioma - Landscapes 
16. Jon Hopkins - Abandon Window (Moderat Remix) 

!K7 will release DJ-Kicks on May 19th, 2017. 


Bron: Resident Advisor

Back to Compilation Overview