Xspance - Melodyheart

Artist: Xspance

Title: Melodyheart LP

Label: Section Records

Cat. No. SCTN0026

Format: Digital Download

Release Date: 5th December 2016



01. Sunlight Song                                                                                                                                                        

02. A Place Of Stasis                                                                                                                                                           

03. Passing By                                                                                                                                                               

04. Illuminate                                                                                                                                                               

05. Far Away                                                                                                                                                                

06. Winter Anthem                                                                                                                                                    

07. The Reef                                                                                                                                                                  

08. Look To The Sky                                                                                                                                                   

09. Horizons                                                                                                                                                                 

10. Nightflight                                                                                                                                                        


12. Moonlight Song


File under chillout / electronic / melodic / ambient / slo-beat. Xspance is the highly creative musical moniker of a certain Hertfordshire (UK) born lad and self-taught music producer named Myles Webb, whose deeply beautiful, moving soundscapes stir up wonderfully diverse emotions. 'Melodyheart' is his latest evocative body of work and is set for release on Tripswitch's musically eclectic Section Records, which has already treated us to the sun-drenched Balearic vibes of Audioglider's 'Subaquamarine' album and more, in recent months. 'Melodyheart' is a perfect collection of chilled ambient tracks, each designed to melt into each other. It’s uplifting melody driven music that will warm your heart and touch your soul, hence the title of the album. Just close your eyes and dream...


“From the very first time this collection of tracks hit my speakers, I was hooked. I’d heard snippets of Myles’ music over the past couple of years, but this was the first time I’d listened to a body of his work in its entirety. For a luxurious hour I was totally rooted to the spot, while my mind drifted off across vistas of Nordic splendour, sun-drenched tropical beauty, then to the depths of the ocean to swim with the fishes. It’s rare to come across an album that’s such a seamless and complete flow, and which so effortlessly transports the listener to wherever their mind takes them, so I signed it on the spot. It’s modest and understated – there are no self-indulgent “huge” moments here - it’s a perfectly executed album of brain food that delivers exactly where it matters.” - Tripswitch


Myles has a strong creative drive (he's a graphic designer by day) and has been making music for a few years now. His Xspance project is based around an electronic / ambient axis where his journey-like arrangements can often be associated with the finest quality progressive vibes. Drawing creative inspiration from a wide array of sources to develop his own distinctive style and sound, Xspance tips his hat to premium producers such as Apparat, M83, John Hopkins, Tycho, Ulrich Schnauss and Boards Of Canada, amongst a host of creative mavericks.


"My passion for and love of electronic music has always intrigued and driven me forward to learn the art of production and develop my own style of music. The journey has been and will always be a creative and exciting one." – Xspance


It's time to kick back, relax, and focus on the music within 'Melodyheart'. This is background music that demands your full attention. Xspance's journey-esque structures and evolving arrangements lend a very visual, filmic element to his music, as each track becomes a scene in a play, slowly revealing a bigger picture. From the opening shimmering beauty of ‘Sunlight Song’, to the slo-mo synth euphoria of ‘Forever’, this is an engaging aural experience of subtle shades and tones. Where ‘Illuminate’ twinkles brightly, ‘The Reef’ delves into darker depths and ‘Nightflight’ floats gently on the breeze. Then there's the subtle melancholic beauty of ‘Look To The Sky’, the faded postcard merry-go-round memories of 'Far Away', and even a slo-beat trans European synth symphony in 'Passing By'. This isn't a short trip, this is an expansive adventure – one that can be revisited time and time again and never sounds the same. Just close your eyes and dream...


'Melodyheart' is the latest engaging sensory experience from the musical mind of Xspance, and follows his debut 'Night Echoes' (2014) long-player. In between, he has released other delights on 'Ambient Zone 2' (‘The Last Sunrise’) alongside such luminaries as Chris Coco and Jon Hopkins, and on Norman H's eclectic compilation series 'Insomnia Cafe' (‘Disappear With Me’). Remixes for Fractal Architect (Traumwelten) and Olaf Stuut (Atomnation) are further pieces in this exciting and expanding musical jigsaw puzzle. Switch on. Stay tuned in. Experience more.


Artist Info:                                                                                                          




Label Info:                                                                                                                





Back to New Artist Overview